Genre: Historical

8 Books for Readers Who Loved the Throne of Glass Series

Posted September 5, 2016 by Emily in Book List / 2 Comments

8 books like Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

This post is for all you lovely people who have pre-ordered Empire of Storms. I know you’re definitely going to need some backup reading materials for the inevitable book hangover that’s going to happen. (If you haven’t started the Throne of Glass series, what are you waiting for?!)

Ahem, I’m here for you.

These are my eight suggestions for books that are like Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas.

If you like books about girl assassins:

8 Books for Readers Who Loved the Throne of Glass SeriesGrave Mercy by Robin LaFevers
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt on 2012
Genres: Young Adult, Action & Adventure, General, Historical, Europe, Love & Romance, Fantasy & Magic
Pages: 549
Buy on AmazonThe King's English
Goodreads

Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf?
Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others.      Ismae’s most important assignment takes her straight into the high court of Brittany—where she finds herself woefully under prepared—not only for the deadly games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart?

As an added bonus, all the books in the His Fair Assassins trilogy are out. You’ll only have to wait as long as it takes for your order or library hold to come in.

If you like books about fantastic squads:

8 Books for Readers Who Loved the Throne of Glass SeriesSix of Crows (Six of Crows, #1) by Leigh Bardugo
Published by Henry Holt and Company on September 29th 2015
Pages: 465
Buy on AmazonThe King's English
Goodreads

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can't pull it off alone...
A convict with a thirst for revenge.
A sharpshooter who can't walk away from a wager.
A runaway with a privileged past.
A spy known as the Wraith.
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz's crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don't kill each other first.

Leigh Bardugo’s newest series takes all the elements of a heist novel and sets it in the Grisha world that made Shadow and Bone so amazing. The next book, Crooked Kingdom, comes out soon as well!

If you love magic and worldbuilding:

8 Books for Readers Who Loved the Throne of Glass SeriesThe Demon King (Seven Realms, #1) by Cinda Williams Chima
Published by Hyperion Books on September 7th 2010
Pages: 506
Buy on AmazonThe King's English
Goodreads

One day Han Alister catches three young wizard setting fire to the sacred mountain of Hanalea. Han takes an amulet away from Micah Bayar, son of the High Wizard, to ensure the boy won't use it against him. The amulet once belonged to the Demon King, who nearly destroyed the world a millennium ago. With a magical piece so powerful at stake, Han knows that the Bayars will stop at nothing to get it back.
Meanwhile, Princess Raisa ana'Marianna has her own battle to fight. She's just returned to court after three years of riding and hunting with her father's family. Raia aspires to be like Hanalea, the legendary warrior queen who killed the Demon King and saved the world. But it seems that her mother has other plans for her-plans that include a suitor who goes against everything the Queendom stands for.
The Seven Realms will tremble when the lives of Han and Raisa collide in this stunning page-turner from best-selling author Cinda Williams Chima.

I will never ever get sick of recommending the Seven Realms series, because I think it’s completely underappreciated in YA fantasy. All of the books are out, so there isn’t any excuse preventing you from starting it. This is a series that I read over and over just to get all the little details.

If you love characters who hold painful secrets:

8 Books for Readers Who Loved the Throne of Glass SeriesDaughter of the Forest (Sevenwaters, #1) by Juliet Marillier
Published by Tor Books on February 18th 2002
Pages: 544
Buy on AmazonThe King's English
Goodreads

Lovely Sorcha is the seventh child and only daughter of Lord Colum of Sevenwaters. Bereft of a mother, she is comforted by her six brothers who love and protect her. Sorcha is the light in their lives, they are determined that she know only contentment.
But Sorcha's joy is shattered when her father is bewitched by his new wife, an evil enchantress who binds her brothers with a terrible spell, a spell which only Sorcha can lift-by staying silent. If she speaks before she completes the quest set to her by the Fair Folk and their queen, the Lady of the Forest, she will lose her brothers forever.
When Sorcha is kidnapped by the enemies of Sevenwaters and taken to a foreign land, she is torn between the desire to save her beloved brothers, and a love that comes only once. Sorcha despairs at ever being able to complete her task, but the magic of the Fair Folk knows no boundaries, and love is the strongest magic of them all...

I’m stepping deep into the backlist on this one. But, for newer YA readers who may not have heard of this series before, you’re in for a treat. Juliette Marillier is a wonderful storyteller, and Daughter of the Forest one is probably my favorite of all her books. The main character is on a quest to save her brothers from a curse, but she isn’t allowed to say a word. It should be noted that there is a rape scene that requires a trigger warning.

If you like stories about orphans with illegal abilities:

8 Books for Readers Who Loved the Throne of Glass SeriesPlain Kate by Erin Bow
Published by Arthur A. Levine Books on August 1st 2012
Pages: 320
Buy on AmazonThe King's English
Goodreads

A knife-sharp debut novel that leaves its mark.
Plain Kate lives in a world of superstitions and curses, where a song can heal a wound and a shadow can work deep magic. When Kate's village falls on hard times - crops fail, and even Kate's father falls victim to a deadly fever - the townspeople look for someone to blame, and their eyes fall on Kate.
Enter Linay, a stranger with a proposition: In exchange for her shadow, he'll give Kate the means to escape the town that seems set to burn her, and what's more, he'll grant her heart's wish. It's a chance for her to start over, to find a home, a family, a place to belong. But Kate soon realizes that she can't live shadowless forever -- and that Linay's designs are darker than she ever dreamed.

In Throne of Glass, magic is outlawed and suppressed by the tyrant king. In Plain Kate, Kate is a masterful carver and lives in a village where such gifts are viewed as witchcraft. And, you guessed it, witches are burned. A couple other elements that make this book worth picking up: a sassy cat (seriously, when are we going to get more of Fleetfoot? This is a major element lacking from Maas’s series), real talk about grief and despair, and a beautifully crafted world.

If you really think the Throne of Glass Series should be about Manon Blackbeak:

8 Books for Readers Who Loved the Throne of Glass SeriesTruthwitch (The Witchlands, #1) by Susan Dennard
Published by Tor Teen on January 5th 2016
Pages: 415
Buy on AmazonThe King's English
Goodreads

On a continent ruled by three empires, some are born with a “witchery,” a magical skill that sets them apart from others.
In the Witchlands, there are almost as many types of magic as there are ways to get in trouble—as two desperate young women know all too well.
Safiya is a Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lie. It’s a powerful magic that many would kill to have on their side, especially amongst the nobility to which Safi was born. So Safi must keep her gift hidden, lest she be used as a pawn in the struggle between empires.
Iseult, a Threadwitch, can see the invisible ties that bind and entangle the lives around her—but she cannot see the bonds that touch her own heart. Her unlikely friendship with Safi has taken her from life as an outcast into one of reckless adventure, where she is a cool, wary balance to Safi’s hotheaded impulsiveness.
Safi and Iseult just want to be free to live their own lives, but war is coming to the Witchlands. With the help of the cunning Prince Merik (a Windwitch and ship’s captain) and the hindrance of a Bloodwitch bent on revenge, the friends must fight emperors, princes, and mercenaries alike, who will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

I’ve got to admit, that the introduction of the witches as a main story arc wasn’t what I wanted at first, but after Queen of Shadows, I’m ready for Manon Blackbeak all the time. Luckily, Truthwitch by Susan Dennard offers some witch clan feuding, forbidden powers, and all the things you need until you can meet up with Manon again.

If you want your heart broken by a love story that wasn’t meant to be:

8 Books for Readers Who Loved the Throne of Glass SeriesThe Girl of Fire and Thorns (Fire and Thorns, #1) by Rae Carson
Published by Greenwillow Books on August 21st 2012
Pages: 423
Buy on AmazonThe King's English
Goodreads

Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness. Elisa is the chosen one. But she is also the younger of two princesses. The one who has never done anything remarkable, and can't see how she ever will. Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs her to be the chosen one, not a failure of a princess.
And he's not the only one who seeks her. Savage enemies, seething with dark magic, are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people's savior. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake.
Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn't die young. Most of the chosen do.

No spoilers here, but if you’ve read the Throne of Glass series, you know exactly who I’m talking about. If you like wallowing in that pain of a ship that sinks epically, then The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson is the book for you. The first book will rip your heart out. Luckily, the final book will mend it up nicely.

If you need more of the dark magic of the Valg:

8 Books for Readers Who Loved the Throne of Glass SeriesBone Gap by Laura Ruby
Published by Balzer + Bray on April 26th 2016
Pages: 345
Buy on AmazonThe King's English
Goodreads

National Book Award Finalist
Everyone knows Bone Gap is full of gaps.
So when young, beautiful Roza went missing, the people of Bone Gap weren’t surprised. But Finn knows what really happened to Roza. He knows she was kidnapped by a dangerous man whose face he cannot remember.
As we follow the stories of Finn, Roza, and the people of Bone Gap, acclaimed author Laura Ruby weaves a tale of the ways in which the face the world sees is never the sum of who we are.

Good horror is the kind that feeds on fear and the dark places of our past, which is where the Valg come in. In Laura Ruby’s The Bone Gap, you’ll get all that really scary stuff of the in-between worlds and the courageous people who will go anywhere to find the people they love.

What’s on your list after Empire of Storms? What other books are like Throne of Glass?

These books are perfect for readers who loved Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. A list of 8 books like Throne of Glass.

Divider
My top 11 horror novels for Halloween

My top 11 horror novels for ..

  Are you excited for Halloween? I have to admit that I’m a little lukewarm about dressing up, but I absolutely love this time of year. One of the things I love best about Halloween is the great films and movies that center around horror. Now, I’m a bit squeamish about horror movies, but I have to admit that I am CRAZY about horror novels. That’s why I’ve brought you some of my absolute favorite horror novels for this time of year. But, before we get to that . . . I just started regularly getting on Periscope. If you don’t know what Periscope is, you need to check it out. Basically, it’s a way to live-stream video. The video lasts for 24 hours on your profile, but you can […]

Posted October 30, 2015
6 Comments
Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson: Review

Walk on Earth a Stranger by ..

Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson Series: The Gold Seer Trilogy #1 Published by HarperCollins on September 22, 2015 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic, Action & Adventure, General, Girls & Women, Historical Pages: 448 Format: Advanced Review Copy Source: HarperCollins I received this book for free from HarperCollins in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Buy on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, The King’s English Goodreads Lee Westfall has a secret. She can sense the presence of gold in the world around her. Veins deep beneath the earth, pebbles in the river, nuggets dug up from the forest floor. The buzz of gold means warmth and life and home—until everything is ripped away by a man who […]

Posted September 15, 2015
2 Comments
A Night Divided by Jennifer A. Nielsen: Review

A Night Divided by Jennifer ..

A Night Divided by Jennifer A. Nielsen Published by Scholastic on August 25, 2015 Genres: Young Adult, Action & Adventure, General, Family, Historical, Europe, Thrillers & Suspense Pages: 336 Format: Advanced Review Copy Source: Scholastic I received this book for free from Scholastic in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Buy on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, The King’s English Goodreads With the rise of the Berlin Wall, twelve-year-old Gerta finds her family divided overnight. She, her mother, and her brother Fritz live on the eastern side, controlled by the Soviets. Her father and middle brother, who had gone west in search of work, cannot return home. Gerta knows it is dangerous to watch the wall, to think forbidden thoughts […]

Posted September 9, 2015
0 Comments
Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George: Review

Silver in the Blood by Jessi..

Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George Series: Silver in the Blood #1 Published by Bloomsbury Publishing USA on July 7, 2015 Genres: Young Adult, Historical, Europe, Love & Romance, Fantasy & Magic Pages: 368 Format: Hardcover Source: Purchased Buy on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, The King’s English Goodreads As debutantes in 1890s New York City, cousins Dacia and Lou knew little about about their mysterious Romanian relatives, the Florescus. Now, upon turning seventeen, the girls must journey to Romania–a journey that seems to be both reward and punishment–to meet their cousins and their tyrant of a grandmother and to learn the secrets of their family. Secrets spoken of in whispers. Dangerous secrets known as the Claw, the Wing, and the Smoke. But as dangerous as those family secrets might be, […]

Posted August 18, 2015
0 Comments
Lion Heart by A.C. Gaughen: Review

Lion Heart by A.C. Gaughen: ..

Lion Heart by A.C. Gaughen Series: Scarlet #3 Published by Bloomsbury Publishing USA on May 19th 2015 Genres: Young Adult, Action & Adventure, General, Fairy Tales & Folklore, Adaptations, Historical, Medieval, Love & Romance Pages: 352 Format: Hardcover Source: Bloomsbury Publishing USA I received this book for free from Bloomsbury Publishing USA in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Buy on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, The King’s English Goodreads Scarlet has captured the hearts of readers as well as the heart of Robin Hood, and after ceaseless obstacles and countless threats, readers will finally find out the fate of the Lady Thief. Only the greatest loves can survive great danger. . . Imprisoned by Prince John for months, Scarlet […]

Posted July 9, 2015
1 Comment
Blackmoore by Julianne Donaldson: Review

Blackmoore by Julianne Donal..

Blackmoore by Julianne Donaldson Published by Shadow Mountain on 2013 Genres: Fiction, Romance, Historical, Regency Pages: 286 Format: Paperback Source: Shadow Mountain I received this book for free from Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Buy on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, The King’s English Goodreads At eighteen, Kate Worthington knows she should be getting serious about marriage, but her restless heart won’t let her settle down. To escape her mother’s meddlesome influence, she dreams of traveling with her spinster aunt to exotic India. But when the opportunity arises, Kate finds herself making a bargain with her mother: she will be allowed to go only if she spends a season at the family’s wealthy estate, Blackmoore, where […]

Posted September 27, 2013
3 Comments
Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys: Review

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepe..

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys Published by Penguin Group USA on 2013 Genres: Young Adult, Historical, United States, 20th Century, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Social Issues Pages: 346 Format: Advanced Review Copy Source: Penguin Group USA I received this book for free from Penguin Group USA in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Buy on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, The King’s English Goodreads ;It’s 1950, and as the French Quarter of New Orleans simmers with secrets, seventeen-year-old Josie Moraine is silently stirring a pot of her own. Known among locals as the daughter of a brothel prostitute, Josie wants more out of life than the Big Easy has to offer. She devises a plan get out, but […]

Posted April 12, 2013
5 Comments
Cinders and Sapphires by Leila Rasheed: Review

Cinders and Sapphires by Lei..

Cinders & Sapphires by Leila Rasheed Series: At Somerton #1 Published by Disney-Hyperion on January 22, 2013 Genres: Young Adult, Historical, General, Girls & Women Pages: 400 Format: Advanced Review Copy Source: Disney-Hyperion I received this book for free from Disney-Hyperion in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Buy on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, The King’s English Goodreads One house, two worlds…Rose Cliffe has never met a young lady like her new mistress. Clever, rich, and beautiful, Ada Averley treats Rose as an equal. And Rose could use a friend. Especially now that she, at barely sixteen, has risen to the position of ladies’ maid. Rose knows she should be grateful to have a place at a house like […]

Posted January 30, 2013
8 Comments
Changeling by Philippa Gregory: Audio Review

Changeling by Philippa Grego..

Changeling by Philippa Gregory Narrator: Charlie Cox Series: Order of Darkness #1 Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on May 29, 2012 Genres: Young Adult, Action & Adventure, General, Historical, Europe, Love & Romance, Fantasy & Magic, Paranormal Pages: 256 Format: Audio Source: Simon & Schuster Audio I received this book for free from Simon & Schuster Audio in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Buy on Amazon Goodreads Italy, 1453. Seventeen-year-old Luca Vero is brilliant, gorgeous—and accused of heresy. Cast out of his religious order for using the new science to question old superstitious beliefs, Luca is recruited into a secret sect: The Order of the Dragon, commissioned by Pope Nicholas V to […]

Posted June 21, 2012
9 Comments