Pivot Point by Kasie West: Review

Posted February 11, 2013 by Emily in blog tour, book review / 9 Comments

Pivot Point by Kasie West: Review

Pivot Point by Kasie West: ReviewPivot Point by Kasie West
Series: Pivot Point #1
Published by HarperCollins on December 31, 2013
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Girls & Women, Love & Romance
Pages: 384
Format: Advanced Review Copy
Source: HarperCollins

I received this book for free from HarperCollins in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Perfect for fans of Sliding Doors, Kasie West's riveting novel Pivot Point follows a girl with the power to see her potential futures.
Addison Coleman's life is one big "What if?" As a Searcher, a special type of clairvoyant, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she is able to look into the future and see both outcomes. So when her parents tell her they are getting a divorce and she has to pick who she wants to live with, a Search has never been more important.
In one future Addie is living with her mom in the life she's always known and is being pursued by the most popular guy in school. In the other she is the new girl in school, where she falls for a cute, quiet artist. Then Addie finds herself drawn into a murder investigation, and her fate takes a darker turn. With so much to lose in either future, Addie must decide which reality she's willing to live through . . . and who she's willing to live without.

pivot-point-tour-banner

I have to admit that I did not have high hopes for this novel. Sure, the premise sounded interesting enough, but I feel like I’ve read a good deal of “kids with superpower” books lately and am feeling a bit burned out. And, I am just going to come out with the fact that I really have no love for the cover.

Addison Coleman, like all of her classmates, has a special ability. Addison can search into the future when she is faced with a choice and see where both decisions will take her. When her parents announce their divorce, she is convinced by her friend to search into the decision to stay in the compound, or leaving to live with the normals with her father. So, basically the story alternates between her life with her mother and her life with her father. In the future.


Truth be told, this story is a pretty ambitious undertaking. As Addison’s story unfolds, there are points where the story line converges and had the plot been any less tight, it would have fallen apart. But, the transition between the two stories were nearly flawless and made for an excellent read.


Though the story was heavy on the romance between Addison and the boys in each of her realities, there were plenty of thought provoking moments. Addison’s gift causes her to be incredibly cautious about her choices. It’s as though you’d never have to make a wrong choice, since you could potentially see any consequence for a particular action. Addison also reacts based on her visions of the future. For instance, though a person may not have physically done something, Addison remembers it and treats them just as though it had actually happened.


Once the story really started to pick up, and Addison nears the end of her search, I was totally invested. And though I did see a few things coming and felt like I knew what her choice would be, that didn’t make it any less painful. Which is, of course, just how you want it to be.
The true test is, of course, will I read the next in the series? Absolutely.

enter to win a copy of Pivot Point, and check out the rest of the blog tour!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

9 responses to “Pivot Point by Kasie West: Review

  1. Great review– thanks for avoiding spoilers! I have had my eye on this book for a while now. Can't wait to get my hands on it! (especially after you said the words HEAVY ON THE ROMANCE). 🙂

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge