Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo: Review

Posted June 4, 2013 by Kylie in book review / 11 Comments

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo: ReviewSiege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo
Series: The Grisha Trilogy #2
Published by Henry Holt and Company (BYR) on June 4, 2013
Genres: Young Adult, Action & Adventure, General, Fairy Tales & Folklore, Fantasy & Magic, Monsters, Science Fiction
Pages: 435
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Darkness never dies.
Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land, all while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. But she can't outrun her past or her destiny for long.
The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling's game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her--or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm. Siege and Storm is the second book in The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo.

Sometimes you read a book that stays with you. The characters pop into your head from time to time and the story weaves its way into your thoughts unexpectedly. You find yourself thinking about it while reading other books, then feel guilty for doing so, then suffer swiftly through the five stages of grief until you eventually accept that there’s nothing to be done about it until the next book is published. You sigh and return to reading the same paragraph you’ve read five times already, but in the back of your reader-mind you never really move on.

Because, the Darkling. He’s so hot right now.

Shadow and Bone was that book for me last year. I couldn’t get enough of Mal and Alina and, yes, the Darkling. I wanted to delve deeper into the Grisha world and learn more about Ravka and the Shadow Fold; amplifiers and trackers. Leigh Bardugo created an exciting, mysterious world and since setting the book down I’ve hoped and wished for book two to keep the magic alive. Oh, baby, does it ever.

Siege and Storm is intense, smart and victorious. Leigh’s writing is exceptional and her storytelling is captivating from page one. The characters in this series continue to grow in complexity and strength throughout the book; by the final pages, some are barely recognizable.

Readers who loved Shadow and Bone will be blown away by this second book in the Grisha Trilogy and will enjoy exploring more of the Grisha world. We get to sail over the True Sea, traverse the chilly waters of the Bone Road and meet new mystical creatures while getting to know more about old and new characters alike. The introduction of snarky, confident Jack-Sparrow-evoking privateer Sturmhond adds a quick humor and mystery that melds so well, you’ll feel like he was always a part of the story. Sturmhond is my new favorite.

In short, Siege and Storm makes a great story even better. Leigh Bardugo turns a unique, exciting story with continually complex plots and characters and the perfect blend of foreboding and hope. I promise the final 40 pages will stop you in your tracks! I’m absolutely left wanting for more. Luckily, Darkness Never Dies…

Watch the ominous trailer here:

As a fun bonus, Leigh Bardugo’s website is chock-full of Grisha goodness! Take a few minutes to click around and familiarize yourself with Ravkan pronunciations, maps of the Grisha world, maybe bake up a Butterweek Almond Cake, and peruse Leigh’s Pinterest boards to see what images may have inspired her writing.

 

Divider

11 responses to “Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo: Review

  1. I'm going to die trying not to buy this sequel. Like, seriously, I'm going to just explode resisting my urges. But I'm trying to wait to buy it until the Fierce Reads signing happening in my area. But, oh, how I long to meet the new characters! Especially one reminiscent of Jack freaking Sparrow.

    • You are SO AMAZING to wait! Thank you for supporting Fierce Reads and Leigh Bardugo! The tour isn't hitting my area this year and I am bummed. So happy for you, though–you will love this book! Sturmhond is amazing.

  2. Loved this book! I'm so glad I was able to read Shadow&Bone and Siege and Storm back-to-back since I didn't get around to S&B last year. Great review!

    • Thank you! That's great you were able to read them back-to-back. Most of Shadow and Bone came back to me while reading Siege and Storm, but there were definitely parts I'd forgotten or didn't remember clearly. I'm so glad you loved it!

  3. I haven't started this series yet but I have the first book and it makes me so happy when people like the second book and don't consider it filler.

  4. I LOVED this one. I hadn't read the first one before and I timed them so that I could read them together and Bardugo's growth as a writer is very apparent. After I got to the last page, I kept thinking it was a trick of some sort – and then I got on Goodreads and everyone who'd read this was such an emotional mess.

    And her characters! First the Darkling and now Sturmhond? Oof.

Leave a Reply