Category: blog tour

Dear Abigail: A Post About Dragons

Posted September 9, 2016 by Emily in blog tour, book review / 1 Comment

Dear Abigail: A Post About DragonsDear Dragon by Josh Funk, Rodolfo Montalvo
Published by Viking Books for Young Readers on September 6th 2016
Pages: 40

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Buy on AmazonThe King's English
Goodreads
four-half-stars

A sweet and clever friendship story in rhyme, about looking past physical differences to appreciate the person (or dragon) underneath.
George and Blaise are pen pals, and they write letters to each other about everything: their pets, birthdays, favorite sports, and science fair projects. There’s just one thing that the two friends don’t know: George is a human, while Blaise is a dragon! What will happen when these pen pals finally meet face-to-face?

Dear Abigail:

For the past 3 years, your obsession has been dragons. If it has wings and breathes fire, it’s fair game. You must have watched How to Train Your Dragon 100 times in the past year. You can name all different types, and the dragons cover your bed. Anytime anyone says the word dragon, you’re all ears and ready to discuss.

Your journal entries and books you write at school are all tales of dragon friends. The back of your homework is covered with diligent Charmanders sitting behind desks, learning. Just like you.

You’ve got a waiting list for your magic spray that you want to create that will bring your dragons to life.

You’re in first grade now, and you’re six and a half years old. You’re at that point where you’re no longer a baby, but you haven’t yet made it into the tween years. Everything is magic and the possibilities stretch endlessly before you. You care about feelings and justice and the ways we interact with our environment. If you ruled the word, everyone would be kind and stop hurting one another.

There’s something mystical about how you use your love of dragons to draw in your friends and create intricate games and circles of companionship. You’ve engaged your friends in being the parents of hatchlings and explored what it would be like to be a dragon. Your personality brings out the imagination in others and takes them through the worlds you’ve created and hold dear.

As you begin to navigate the rest of your life, you’ll find there are people who want you to focus on the differences you see in humanity. They’ll insist that the things that make you different from other people create wide chasms that cannot be crossed. Those who are different from you are like dragons—enemies that must be vanquished.

But, you know better. You know that dragons are often misunderstood. Dragons can be loyal, kind, and friendly. They have families that look like yours and ones that don’t. You know that dragons are important and should be protected and loved.

No matter what happens, keep writing letters to dragons and creating connections with everyone you meet. Don’t lose sight of the things that make you similar to those around you and recognize and celebrate the differences. And don’t forget about the dragons.

dear-abigail-a-post-aboutdragons

This post is part of a blog tour to promote Dear Dragon by Josh Funk and Rodolfo Montalvo. Please visit the other stops on the tour:

LibLaura5 – September 5
The Late Bloomer’s Book Blog – September 6
Teach Mentor Texts – September 7
As They Grow Up – September 8
Reederama – September 10

Divider
Second Chance Ranch by Liz Isaacson: Review

Second Chance Ranch by Liz I..

Second Chance Ranch by Liz Isaacson Series: Three Rivers Ranch Romance #1 on September 15, 2015 Format: E-book Source: Author I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Buy on Amazon Goodreads A new Christian western romance from bestselling author, Elana Johnson, writing as Liz Isaacson for her contemporary adult romance debut. After his deployment, injured and discharged Major Squire Ackerman returns to Three Rivers Ranch, anxious to prove himself capable of running the cattle operation so his parents can retire. Things would be easier if the ranch wasn’t missing 1.6 million dollars, which forces Squire to hire Kelly, the girl who rejected his high school prom invitation, as his […]

Posted September 28, 2015
0 Comments
Courtney Alameda: What a Vampire Novel Can Teach You About Friendship (+ a Giveaway)

Courtney Alameda: What a Vam..

I’m so excited to invite one of my favorite people to my blog today. Courtney Alameda’s debut novel, Shutter, was released earlier this month, and it’s one of my favorites so far this year. Courtney is here to talk about Micheline and Van Helsing. Basically, why Dracula is a must-read. And check the bottom of the post for a giveaway of a hardcover copy of Shutter. ON FRIENDSHIP IN DARKNESS AND DRACULA’S GREATEST LEGACY By: Courtney Alameda I remember the exact moment I fell in love with Abraham van Helsing: I was alone in my car, listening to an audiobook of Dracula as I drove to Los Angeles. Dusk fell over the Grapevine Pass just outside the city as Van Helsing and Jonathan Harker pledged friendship to one another: “’You […]

Posted February 13, 2015
0 Comments
Blackmoore by Julianne Donaldson: Review

Blackmoore by Julianne Donal..

Blackmoore by Julianne Donaldson Published by Shadow Mountain on 2013 Genres: Fiction, Romance, Historical, Regency Pages: 286 Format: Paperback Source: Shadow Mountain I received this book for free from Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Buy on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, The King’s English Goodreads At eighteen, Kate Worthington knows she should be getting serious about marriage, but her restless heart won’t let her settle down. To escape her mother’s meddlesome influence, she dreams of traveling with her spinster aunt to exotic India. But when the opportunity arises, Kate finds herself making a bargain with her mother: she will be allowed to go only if she spends a season at the family’s wealthy estate, Blackmoore, where […]

Posted September 27, 2013
3 Comments

Penumbras Blog Tour: Review ..

Penumbras by Braden Bell Series: Middle School Magic #2 Published by Cedar Fort on 2013 Genres: Young Adult, Action & Adventure, General, School & Education, Fantasy & Magic, Social Issues, Friendship Pages: 305 Format: Paperback Source: Cedar Fort I received this book for free from Cedar Fort in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Buy on Amazon Goodreads Conner, Lexa, and Melanie are back! Just when they think life is normal again, a dangerous shadow creature begins to hunt them. The trio must develop their powers in order to conquer this new peril and protect their school. Filled with action and even more magic, this book continues the exciting adventure in the Middle School Magic series. Emily’s […]

Posted July 10, 2013
2 Comments
Going Public…In Shorts: JIAM Hop

Going Public…In Shorts..

I am so excited to bring you Going Public…In Shorts for Audiobook Month. Audiobooks are one of my favorite ways to squeeze in some extra reading, and I have a particular affinity for narrators. Which is why I was just tickled when Xe Sands asked me to be a a part of this boldly ambitious project. Details of the project: June is Audiobook month (JIAM 2013). The audiobook community is giving back by teaming with the Going Public Project by offering a serialized audio story collection. All proceeds will go to Reach Out and Read literacy advocacy organization. Throughout June, 1-2 stories will be released each day on the Going Public blog and on author/book blogs. The story will be free (online only – no downloads) for one week. In […]

Posted June 28, 2013
2 Comments
Pivot Point by Kasie West: Review

Pivot Point by Kasie West: R..

Pivot Point by Kasie West Series: Pivot Point #1 Published by HarperCollins on December 31, 2013 Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Girls & Women, Love & Romance Pages: 384 Format: Advanced Review Copy Source: HarperCollins I received this book for free from HarperCollins in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Buy on Amazon Goodreads Perfect for fans of Sliding Doors, Kasie West’s riveting novel Pivot Point follows a girl with the power to see her potential futures. Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, a special type of clairvoyant, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she is able to look into the future and see both outcomes. So when her parents tell […]

Posted February 11, 2013
9 Comments
Cinders and Sapphires Blog Tour: Editor Interview

Cinders and Sapphires Blog T..

So, Downton Abbey. I’m a fan. (Well at least of the first two seasons, I haven’t actually seen any of the third season yet and from what I hear, I’m not missing much?). Therefore, seeing the synopsis of Cinders & Sapphires filled me with delight, because it’s Downton Abbey for teens! I’ve got a review of the book coming up in a couple of days, but wanted to bring you an interview with the series editor, Emily Meehan! What was your first impression of Cinders & Sapphires when it came across your desk? What made you have to have it? This book came about a bit differently. I asked the question, what if we did a teenaged version of Downton Abbey? And then I asked Sarah Davies if she knew […]

Posted January 28, 2013
3 Comments
The Darkest Minds Blog Tour: Interview with Emily Meehan

The Darkest Minds Blog Tour:..

 hey! don’t forget to check out my review of The Darkest Minds that I posted a couple weeks ago. I’ve done a fair number of author interviews in my time, and I really enjoy them. But, today is my first opportunity to interview an editor. And, Emily Meehan, editor at Disney Hyperion and more specifically the editor for The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken, is my debut! She’s going to answer a few questions about the editing of The Darkest Minds. What was your first impression of The Darkest Minds when it came across your desk? And what made you decide you HAD to have it? The first sentence, which is still the first sentence in the book (though we reordered things quite a bit and had to make it […]

Posted January 16, 2013
0 Comments
Making History: The Archived by Victoria Schwab Blog Tour

Making History: The Archived..

So, there’s this book coming out next month, perhaps you’ve heard of it? It’s called The Archived, and it’s by Victoria Schwab. I’ve read it, and it’s equal parts creepy, sad, and hopeful. I can’t wait to tell you a little more about it in a few weeks when I post my review. But, in the meantime, I’m going to post a video that Victoria sent along for me to share with you all. This is a part of her Making History blog tour, and I’m so honored to be a part of it. The first video is Victoria introducing the tour. The second video was recorded by her mum. I really hope you will watch the video. Victoria’s mum shares a beautiful memory of her father and coming to […]

Posted December 18, 2012
11 Comments